Even 13-year old me wanted to stay 13.

Today I have the overwhelming urge to set the clock back a good 8 years. At this point, most of my friends and I were middle schoolers. I go into nostalgia mode every several months, followed by a spontaneous reinvention of my present self. I don’t know what will happen this time, but I feel like it’s going to be good.

“My birthday = in 3 days = Sept. 17 = I turn 14 = No, I must stay 13 FOREVER = I am mad = becuz I don’t want to be 14 = becuz I just don’t…I like being young! Don’t take my youth! *clings for life to the number 13* (okay is that a good thing? Or should I be superstitious?)”

-myself, age 13.

If you want to read some of the exploits of my early teen years….I just unearthed a real gem.

That journal contains blog posts from March 2002 through July 2004. It appears that my biggest concerns in life were downloading mp3s of 80s songs, bitching about my parents, and making fun of preppy girls. I also had a potty mouth. I also didn’t know how to spell.

Good times. Really good times.

4 thoughts on “Even 13-year old me wanted to stay 13.

Leave a Reply

