More from the ongoing saga of I have fucked up dreams.

Alright so last night’s gem….

I dreamt that I was at home…..it was around Easter time apparently….and I told my dad that instead of doing the whole egg basket thing this year, I was going to write songs and hand them out to people. So I get out my three casiotone keyboards and one of them I notice has this weird problem where if I press a key it never stops sounding. So throughout a large portion of this dream scene I’ve got a middle C or something going on in the background.

My dream self starts coming up with song lyrics…and usually I write pretty catchy songs in dreams, which of course I can never remember the melody or lyrics to once I wake up. So I’m in my room at home (my old room, mind you) and I’ve got this song started that I’m getting pretty stoked about, when in walks Courtney King. And she has on this really cute red dress outfit with black tights. She says that her and Casey Whalen are going to some Easter party at a sorority somewhere and that I should join them. And I was like, no dude I gotta write these songs…and then I started talking to her about all of this music I was really into. At one point I start trying to talk to Courtney about Nouvelle Vague, and all of a sudden she gets all defensive and is like “No, I’m not going to talk to you about Nouvelle Vague” and I was like “What the fuck Courtney?” She seemed really enthused about all these other bands, but once I brought up Nouvelle Vague…she just wasn’t having it.

So I was like oookaaay, and then Casey showed up wearing this really cute yellow outfit. And I was like, fuck you guys are so cute and sociable..and I’m so antisocial and stupid. I told Courtney and Casey I wasn’t agreeing to go to the party, but I WAS agreeing to let them drive me to the party and then I would see them off at the door and then find a way back home (dumb, dream self, dumb dumb dumb). So anyway, we all got in Courtney’s car and my dream self literally rode to this stupid sorority house where this party was….and then got out and stood in the parking lot like an idiot (yeah this sorority had a parking lot) after Courtney and Casey and some other BOBs (who faces I don’t recall) went inside.

So then I was like “Well Fuck.” I started walking back…but instead of walking back home, I started walking back to Truman’s campus. But once I got to campus, it was totally whacked out. Like all of the quad was this big marsh-like field…it was like a fucking swamp it was so muddy and weird. This was like alternate universe Truman. Anyway, I called myself jogging back to Ryle…but none of the buildings looked familiar…actually none of campus looked familiar. This gets weirder…

So I go into this one building and walk around and notice that class is in session in all of the classrooms. And then, as I pass by classroom after classroom…I notice that all of the students are black. So I’m thinking….okay, this isn’t actually Truman..I must have stumbled onto the campus of an HBCU or something. No big deal, I’ll just ask for directions back to Ryle… Soooo then classes all let out, and I’m surrounded in a swarm of students, and they all look either really angry, really hungry or really like they are about to cut my ass if I don’t get out of their way (or maybe a combination of all 3?). (also my dream self is btw really into blatant stereotyping apparently). So I hop outside and turn around to look at the name of the building I was just in…and it says in really grimy, grungy, moss and mold-covered, blurry letters “Gecology”….the word started turning neon and pink, moving in and out of focus and shit……and at that moment a feeling of UTTER PANIC AND TERROR strikes me. And I’m like fuck, I don’t know what “gecology” means and I don’t know why the word looks like if I touch it I might get parasites, but I HAVE GOT to get the fuck out of here or else I’m going to die in some strange ‘gecological’ lab experiment….

Still not making any of this shit up. So I book it over to the nearest approachable looking lady on the quad (marsh) who is working at some sort of hippy civil rights save everyone in Uganda activist volunteer table, and I’m just like “pLEASE OH god point ME in the diRECTION of ryle Hall PLZ LADYgod doitquick”…and she points me in the direction I had arrived on this campus from and I am like “Fuck me.”…So I start jogging in that direction and literally jog myself in a circle around the fucking campus….no Ryle in sight.

The last thing I recall is being intensely frustrated and wondering if I should have taken up cross-country.

o_O

sidenote: Yes. I have googled ‘gecology’. And no, Google, I did not mean ‘gynecology’….

Leave a Reply

